Visiting London

Visiting that there London next week, with fam (including 18y.o daughter) and wondered if you ‘soft southerners’ could advise where to go in a non-touristy (looking at tall buildings) kinda way.

As the kid can now officially drink some nice bars or things to check would be ace.

Any help gratefully appreciated.

I’m no expert on that big London mate as I live in the North West, but I do work out of my London office on a regular basis and I would recommend a walk along South Bank, start at the London Eye and head down towards Tower Bridge, its a really nice walk with some nice bars and restaurants, great views over the river and some fancy tall buildings en route :wink: (I’m sure the Londoners on here are better placed to advise though)

3 Likes

So much nicer than it was when I worked there in the 90s! Yes absolutely recommend this walk
Borough Market also good for food / vibes / looking at Mordor (the Shard)

1 Like

The Sky Garden Bar in the Walkie Talkie is worth a visit - you can check our all the other tall buildings in the City from the panoramic viewing platform.

3 Likes

She wants to go to Portobello Market at some point, she’s into vintage clothes etc.

Was hoping for some cool art installations and stuff like that, but thanks for the tip.

Definitely check out the Tate Modern if you are doing that walk on South Bank. And there’s usually some cool art installations/exhibitions at 180 Strand. LUX is on at the moment.

There’s a Banksy exhibition on in Covent Garden now which has got some nice pieces in it. If Banksy is your thing.

1 Like

There’s the KAWS installation in the Serpentine Gallery

1 Like

Wanted to go there but says tickets say it’s sold out.

Yeah - we saw the 180 Strand thing, that might be the one.

I’m far too cool to like Banksy now he’s gone mainstream, but I’ll ask aforementioned child if she fancies it.

Thanks for the tips People x

1 Like