Would anybody recommend purchasing a digital vinyl system?

Hi Test Pressing community. Due to purchasing more digital releases via Bandcamp and thinking of limiting the records I carry in the future I am thinking of purchasing one of these vinyl interfaces such as the Native Instruments Scratch or Serato. I have never used this kind of set up before so I am totally clueless to the pros and cons. Does anybody have any advice? Am I going to need to also purchase a new mixer which is compatible to this type of setup? I would love to grab a set of CDJs but they are mega expensive so Im thinking this is a good alternative. Any advice and recommendations would be massively appreciated.

1 Like

I’ve been using traktor for a few years now, I don’t ‘play out’ any more, DJing is a home hobby. I use the time code vinyl & it’s the same feel as DJing with records. I’ve never tried serato, and I’ve never got involved with all the special effects, remix decks & stems business, I just use the loop to mix longer.
I still buy vinyl as well as downloads, record them & quite often sell them on on discogs, as I didn’t have the space for thousands of records. I know purists will not like it but it’s the best decision I’ve made since I stopped DJing out.

3 Likes

I use Traktor with a Mac with their mixer and effects thingumy, bit bedroom DJ but when I can’t be bothered with setting up the 1200’s or playing new stuff it’s pretty good/fun.

If you factor in a decent laptop then maybe some Pioneer CDJ’s won’t be that much more, I’d love some but like you just don’t have the moolah. Not sure of the practicalities when playing out and basically taking your own ‘system’.

1 Like

I bought the Traktor Z1 and X1 a few weeks ago. It’s a lot of fun but of course playing older stuff with drifting pitch is a no-go but i got them for tearing up House stuff at home. Traktor sounds great and I find it a breeze to use. Is it wrong that i find beatgridding pleasurable?

2 Likes