New Magazines & Stuff

This one just turned up in the post. Always a good read.

11 Likes

Eagerly awaiting my copy. Top quality production & content every time.

1 Like

Love that Record mag, put together really nicely.

These are usually pretty good too, on more of a funk and hip hop tip, but a little bit of house and disco in there as well:

Available from Discopatrick on IG, usually does a small print run of them.

2 Likes

White Columns and Harvey in one publication gets my money. Test Pressing is costly. :man_shrugging:t2:

3 Likes

Great to see, had him lined up for the Surf mag I used to run before it folded, nice to see he’s got his new Board line up and running. The whole crew Heidi etc were a joy to deal with, stars just didn’t align, is there much about his surfing before I pull the plug on a copy?

Not a great deal tbh. Just checked for you… Looks good though.

1 Like

Nice, I’ll prob get it anyhoo, thanks for looking!

I’m no expert but isnt that surf board absolutely massive ?

1 Like

Love Injection is another one worth checking out. Good long-form articles and interviews + you find about people in the NY scene that might not necessarily be on your radar.

7 Likes

Maggot Brain (from Third Man Records) there’s a free extra large pdf edition online and quarterly print issues. It’s got a nice The Fader meets Grand Royal vibe.

1 Like

If there’s any hoops fans here, I’d recommend Franchise, which is a beautiful blending of all things basketball and art.

do you have a link to the free pdf version? I’m LOVING the design and layout of what i’ve seen in the previews.

EDIT - never mind, a simple google search lead me to it

Like many of you I was a rabid magazine consumer in my youth and up until the rise of the smart phone world we now receive most of our info from. In rough chronological order I would buy imported copies of

No.1 Magazine
Smash Hits
Melody Maker
NME
Vox
Select
Muzik
DJ Mag
Mixmag
Grand Royal
Hip Hop Connection
The Fader
The Wire