Mastering tips and practices

Hey - I’m looking for people to share their mastering practices and knowledge.
Mastering is obviously super important. But when mastering a lot of tracks with a professional engineer, it can mount up to quite a hefty sum. If you’re running a non-commercial part time label, spending 70-80 GBP for a track is really much more than any of this tracks generate as income.
On the other hand, I am slightly suspicious of all the AI mastering solutions which are flooding the market right now.
Would love to hear your thoughts on this please :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I have read interviews with Gerd Janson where he says he regrets not getting the early Running Back releases professionally mastered. So I guess that will always be the ultimate solution - go to someone who knows what they are doing. In the meantime I just try to do my amateur best in Logic.

4 Likes

Oof! Massive topic. Everyone has their own methods. I did a course with mastering superstar Connor Dalton a few years back. He’s really honest and says sometimes all a track needs is some subtle EQ and limiting. He’s not a fan of compression in general. If the track has a really thick band in the middle (of the wav file) then by rights the dynamic range should be good and from there its just about bringing it up to playback levels.

One thing he demonstrated absolutely brilliantly was searching for harsh resonant frequencies in a track with a surgical (tight Q) EQ. He played back a track and asked everyone to note what they thought. We all thought it sounded great, no issues. He found a resonant frequency in the ride and notched it down, and then A/B’d it. It was unbelievable the difference it made. When he took the EQ cut off, it was impossible not to hear it! Amazing.

So in general terms if it can be fixed in the mix, then a mastering engineer shouldn’t in theory need to do much. Obviously depending on style/genre you may want to add colour or air at the mastering stage.