Electronic music link with politics/protest

Hi, I’m a politics student currently starting a dissertation titled ‘How subcultures related to dance music affect politics and the political landscape they inhabit.’
Does anyone have any recommendations (ideally academic but fine if not) of books and writings on this topic. I’m particularly interested in dance music’s involvement in community-led efforts across the globe which has led to real change.

Any other recommendations which cover similar ground to this from other genres of music are appreciated for me to contrast with dance music.

Thanks very much!

2 Likes

I think you should probably read Tim Lawrence’s books on the new york scene. He’s written 2 of them, “Love Saves the Day” and “Life & Death on the New York Dancefloor”. Although they are broad histories of two different periods, he touches on the political aspect of dance music, particularly in relation to social issues such as Gay rights, minority representation, and the AIDS epidemic.

5 Likes

My smart friend Scott who is also a music head has leant me this to read which he says is just amazing…

This is also on the shelf to read…

Oh just noted the o.p wanted electronic music… Mnnnnnn. Not sure on that front.

2 Likes

Good luck with your dissertation - defo an interesting area to explore. Check this out.

https://georgemckay.org/reviews/diy-culture/

1 Like

Couple of protest tracks to keep you in the mood.

This one’s quite pointed and topical:

This one’s more generic white boy Marxist, but still rousing:

I don’t have anything to suggest beyond the familiar “Disco Sucks” culture wars but please let us know when you’ve finished this, I would love to read it.

I did my own dissertation on the how The Knife use techno to explore feminism. Donna Haraway has stuff about how technological developments give a voice and new language to the previously disempowered, but that’s less about subcultures and more about the role of the music/technology itself.